South African Music Legends Honoured with Stamps

A set of postage stamps commemorating South African music legends. Each stamp features a portrait of the musician by well-known graphic artist Vumile Mavumengwana, who has also produced a range of matching envelopes for the series. The musicians featured, in no particular order, are:

Popular reggae musician Lucky Dube: 1963-2007

Grammy award-winning singer and civil rights activist, Miriam Makeba: 1932-2008

Legendary anti-apartheid pop singer, Brenda Fassie: 1964-2004

South African mbaqanga singer, Simon ‘Mahlathini’ Nkabinde: 1935-1999

Popular saxophonist and jazz musician, Kippie Moeketsi: 1925-1983

South African Zulu musician, singer and composer, Solomon Linda: 1909-1962

Singer, composer and director of a number of popular musicals, Taliep Petersen: 1950-2006

One of the greatest pennywhistle artist, Spokes Mashiyane: 1933-1972

South African singer-songwriter, journalist and playwright, Johannes Kerkorrel: 1960-2002

South African rock singer, songwriter, and performer, James Phillips: 1959-1995


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s